I saw my grade for the final drawing. Not gonna lie, I don't understand. I thought it was the best drawing I had produced all year. It was unfinished but I think even then, it was close to finished enough that the effect created by the unfinished features was not distracting. Traci told me during critique she enjoyed the unfinished qualities. To each their own.
As for the class: You're a cool guy. You try to make a class like drawing 2 cool. No offense to you, but I didn't like the techniques taught in drawing 2. I felt like I was being taught to ignore drawing 1 and found that the drawings were I was able to use line variation and skills taught in drawing 1 were most successful. I don't feel like I learned from the erasure drawings but everything after that point made sense. Working with toned paper was helpful but, still drawing 2 ain't my thing. Critiques were really different from what I'm used to. I had Remy last semester. We would spend one class drawing, the next critiquing. We would take our drawings and pin them up in the middle of class and Remy would briefly critique the unfinished drawings. I got used to it, I liked it. These critiques were much more informal and that made me feel comfortable but sometimes and oftentimes, my drawings wouldn't get discussed. It was cool to know I wasn't the worst and I knew I wasn't the best already. But just because I am in the B-C category doesn't mean I should be ignored. I wish critiques would have been as informal as they were but we would talk about every drawing, every time. Drawing for six hours is a drag, regardless. Sitting for six hours on the floor, hunched over and drawing doesn't sound like a good time and it isn't. I like drawing for shorter periods of time twice a week so that I can come back to the drawing after a day off and see if I still like the drawing. This is not your fault, none of these complaints are really your fault. It was cool that you should us your work. Hope to see ya around.









